To Know That You're Alive - Kutless

Kutless is a Christian rock band from Portland, Oregon formed in 2000. Since their formation, they have released six studio albums including their latest, It Is Well. The band has also released a live album, Live from Portland. Currently, they have sold almost 2 million records.

Formed in Portland, Oregon as a Campus Worship band named Call Box. They performed during the 1999-2000 school year at Warner Pacific. Their first guitarist, Andrew Morrison, decided to leave the band shortly before they signed with BEC records. James Mead replaced Andrew at lead guitar. The Band changed their name to "Kutless" in October 2001 before releasing their first three track EP followed up by their full-length album in 2002 on BEC Recordings. Kutless chose their name because of a specific Bible verse. Romans 6:23 says, "For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord" (NRSV). Because of this, the band says, "He took our cuts for us... leaving us 'Kutless'." Their first single was called "Your Touch". Their second single from their debut album, "Run", would go on to hold the record for the longest charting song in the history of the R&R Top 40 charts.

Current members
Jon Micah Sumrall - lead vocals, rhythm guitar, piano (2000–present)
James Mead - guitar, backing vocals (2001–present)
Jeffrey Gilbert - drums (2005–present)
Dave Luetkenhoelter - bass guitar (2005–present)
Nick DePartee - lead guitar, backing vocals (2007–present)

Former members
Nathan "Stu" Stuart — bass guitar (2000–2002)
Kyle Zeigler — bass guitar (2002–2005)
Kyle Mitchell — drums (2000–2005)
Ryan Shrout — guitar, backing vocals (2000–2007)


Website -

01. The Feeling
02. Sleeping City
03. To Know That You're Alive
04. The Desease & The Cure
05. Complete
06. The Rescue
07. Promise You
08. Guiding Me Home
09. Overcoming Me
10. I Do Not Belong
11. Loud
12. Dying To Become
13. You